- City Clerk
- Dog Licenses
Dog licensing ensures rabies vaccination which protects the health of your pet. Citizens should also know that by licensing their dog they are directly fighting animal cruelty and abuse. Most people do not realize that up to 90% of their dog license fees go directly to the Maine Animal Welfare Program. Dog license fees account for 95% of the State Animal Welfare Program's entire funding and without these fees the State would be unable to protect the animals of this state
All dogs need to be licensed upon reaching the age of 6 months in the town where it resides or after the dog has been with the family for 10 days, if adopted. All dogs 6 months and older must have a license. If you become the owner of a dog 6 months or older, the dog must be licensed by January of each year.
All dog licenses expire December 31st of each year. Renewal of licenses for the following year can be done at the City Clerk's Office beginning October 15th of each calendar year.
Obtaining a Dog License
In order to obtain a license for your dog, the owner must present a current State of Maine Rabies Certificate obtained from a veterinarian (if a valid certificate is not already on file). You will also need to bring proof, in writing, if a veterinarian has stated the dog is incapable of producing young by spaying or neutering. This will allow you to pay a reduced licensing fee. If you have already shown proof to the City Clerk's Office of this, then additional proof is not necessary.
- Online. You can register your dog online between October 15th and January 31st. There is an additional fee of $1 to license your dog online. After this date all renewals must take place in person or by mail.
- By Mail. Download the Register Dog via Mail Form and follow the instructions to license your dog through the mail.
- In Person. You may obtain a dog license in person at City Hall during our normal business hours.
- $6 per year for a spayed/neutered dog
- $11 per year if not spayed/neutered
There will be a late fee of $25 if you re-license your dog after January 31st. If you fail to license your dog it is considered a civil violation where you will be subject to a court summons and a fine of up to $100.
Please feel free to contact the City Clerk's Office with any questions you may have or if you no longer own your dog so we may update our list.